20094ever
Heres a hypothetical situation: pitcher has a perfect game going, and the batter hits a clean hit. If he stopped at first, he obviously has a hit. However, he tries to stretch it into a double, and gets thrown out. Does the pitcher then have 1 hit against him but no baserunners? No hits? I'm just wondering
A sport is something that you cannot do with a torn ACL, and is not decided by "judges". Everything else is an "activity"
Quote 0 0
bb211
I'm pretty sure the hitter is credited with a single there. It's a hit.
You are not smarter than your favorite team's upper management, so stop trying to be.
Quote 0 0
jtownsupporter
bb21 is correct, single and thrown out at 2nd.

now for bonus points, what if he/she misses first base???
Against the Grain -- DP Show
Prince Fielder will sign with some team for 7 years $160 mil
Quote 0 0
crusaderpride
Yeah it's for sure a hit, I just wonder if it gets any special classification, he still didn't allow a baserunner and still faced the minimum.

Quote 0 0
hoopdreamswi
j_townsupporter wrote:


bb21 is correct, single and thrown out at 2nd.

now for bonus points, what if he/she misses first base???


If he misses first base, but the defense throws him out at second anyway and never bothers to appeal at first, then the play stands. It's still a single and he's out at second.

If the defense appeals the play at first base, then the hit would be nullified and it would be treated as an ordinary force out at first.
Quote 0 0
crusaderpride
hoopdreams_wi wrote:


j_townsupporter wrote:


bb21 is correct, single and thrown out at 2nd.

now for bonus points, what if he/she misses first base???


If he misses first base, but the defense throws him out at second anyway and never bothers to appeal at first, then the play stands. It's still a single and he's out at second.

If the defense appeals the play at first base, then the hit would be nullified and it would be treated as an ordinary force out at first.


So if he's called out at 2nd, can they still appeal to first to try to preserve the no-hitter?

Quote 0 0
bp11
crusaderpride wrote:


Yeah it's for sure a hit, I just wonder if it gets any special classification, he still didn't allow a baserunner and still faced the minimum.


No special classification. It is still a one-hitter.
Meatwad: It's like the Thunderdome in here. Only... Two men enter, no man leaves. Starring Mel Gibson... and Master Blaster.

"Where I'm from snitches get stitches." - Delonte West
Quote 0 0
souvenircity
crusaderpride wrote:


hoopdreams_wi wrote:


j_townsupporter wrote:


bb21 is correct, single and thrown out at 2nd.

now for bonus points, what if he/she misses first base???


If he misses first base, but the defense throws him out at second anyway and never bothers to appeal at first, then the play stands. It's still a single and he's out at second.

If the defense appeals the play at first base, then the hit would be nullified and it would be treated as an ordinary force out at first.


So if he's called out at 2nd, can they still appeal to first to try to preserve the no-hitter?


You can appeal anything, but it would have to be pretty obvious to overturn it.

Quote 0 0
derek_old
crusaderpride wrote:


Yeah it's for sure a hit, I just wonder if it gets any special classification, he still didn't allow a baserunner and still faced the minimum.


Buerhle actually faced the minimum in his first no-hitter agains the Rangers. He allowed a 5th inning walk to Sammy Sosa, then picked him off two pitches later. So he's now had two games where's he's faced the minimum.

Quote 0 0
hoopdreamswi
crusaderpride wrote:


hoopdreams_wi wrote:


j_townsupporter wrote:


bb21 is correct, single and thrown out at 2nd.

now for bonus points, what if he/she misses first base???


If he misses first base, but the defense throws him out at second anyway and never bothers to appeal at first, then the play stands. It's still a single and he's out at second.

If the defense appeals the play at first base, then the hit would be nullified and it would be treated as an ordinary force out at first.


So if he's called out at 2nd, can they still appeal to first to try to preserve the no-hitter?


Yes, they could, and if the umpire upheld the appeal, it would wipe out the single, because it would have occured before the tag out at second. That would be pretty wild to see, although it's really unlikely.
Quote 0 0
blainer
derek wrote:


crusaderpride wrote:


Yeah it's for sure a hit, I just wonder if it gets any special classification, he still didn't allow a baserunner and still faced the minimum.


Buerhle actually faced the minimum in his first no-hitter agains the Rangers. He allowed a 5th inning walk to Sammy Sosa, then picked him off two pitches later. So he's now had two games where's he's faced the minimum.


It's actually the third time he's faced the minimum. He threw a one-hitter against the Indians, I believe, in which the one baserunner was taken out with a DP.
Quote 0 0
pinetar
Blainer wrote:


derek wrote:


crusaderpride wrote:


Yeah it's for sure a hit, I just wonder if it gets any special classification, he still didn't allow a baserunner and still faced the minimum.


Buerhle actually faced the minimum in his first no-hitter agains the Rangers. He allowed a 5th inning walk to Sammy Sosa, then picked him off two pitches later. So he's now had two games where's he's faced the minimum.


It's actually the third time he's faced the minimum. He threw a one-hitter against the Indians, I believe, in which the one baserunner was taken out with a DP.


dang...sounds rough...for a guy at least
Quote 0 0
wissportsnet

Boys Basketball Alumni Round-up: February 21st, from @ColtonWilson23 #wisbb -- https://t.co/0K6CZzZWpf https://t.co/715tfpBGVS

wissportsnet

WSN15: Boys Basketball Top Teams #12 -- Two NCAA Division I players at one WIAA Division 4 school = state champions… https://t.co/1MThqzce9L

wissportsnet

Predicting winners of every state wrestling title plus a look By The Numbers, from @Nate_Woelfel -… https://t.co/HgU1bLP7d6

wissportsnet

Join the free Boys Basketball Playoff Pick 'Em Contest; Staff picks coming Tuesday #wisbb -- https://t.co/Y6yTA3OgP8 https://t.co/hA6Uyw9uje