[h]The rules are the rules[/h]
And I will repeat...
When is the last time you have seen this "rule" called according to the MLB rule book and a batter was not awarded 1st base?
For the record, I'm not profusely arguing the fact that Tabata didn't get out of the way (that happens frequently), .... the travesty here is that [h]he leaned in & dropped his elbow to seemingly, intentionally get hit by the inside pitch. & got away with it[/h]. Big difference !
And, while [h]I can't provide the specific game or date, I'd say it was 2 or 3 seasons ago, in a Brewers game[/h], that I last saw that call enforced ... leaning into or intentionally getting oneself hit by a pitch. Otherwise, I have only seen or heard it called, maybe 2 or 3 times in 50+ years of following MLB ... but have come across it.
Also it apparently happened to [h]Nyjer Morgan in 2011[/h]. So while not all that common, not nearly as rare as every 7 years.
[h]Wasn't Brady Clark called for this with the Brewers years ago[/h], and the ump called him 'Bush League" causing Yost to flip out?
I believe you are correct....
With that said, Brady Clark hasn't played in an MLB game in over seven years yet that is the first recollection of the "rule" being applied. That was my point.... [h]While the "rule" is there, it's rarely called[/h].
Nyger Morgan was the incident that I recalled but couldn't remember who or when. I didn't recall the Brady Clark incident until TWeb mentioned it. I remember it now.
FWIW, WIAC, IMO, the primary reason it's rarely called is because it rarely happens. However, the rule is there ... it deserves to be called when it applies.
Wisconsin Sports Network Hall of Fame Inductee, 2012