db11

 Who Will Be In The Driver's Seat in the Parkland? votes

 Catholic Memorial 3 votes
42%
 Grafton 1 vote
14%
 New Berlin Eisenhower 1 vote
14%
 New Berlin West 1 vote
14%
 Pewaukee 1 vote
14%
 Wauwatosa East 0 votes
0%
 Wauwatosa West 0 votes
0%
Multiple choice poll. This poll has been closed.

Catholic Memorial, Grafton, Wauwatosa East and Wauwatosa West join the Woodland/Parkland configuration from the Classic 8, North Shore and Greater Metro respectively.

Grafton, originally aligned in the new Woodland, is the only team from that league to play in the fall, and has joined the Parkland set-up for this season.

The rest of the league(s) has opted (except for Milwaukee Lutheran and Wisconsin Lutheran, who were more or less forced to by City of Milwaukee health regulations) for the alternate spring season.

Catholic Memorial

2019 Record: 12-2 (6-2)

Notable Losses: QB/PK Luke Fox, OL Sam Bautz, OL Rocco Pellegrini, OL James Groehler, WR Joe Sikma, TE/LB/P Ben Kreul, LB Joey Goetz, TE/LB Cole Dakovich, WR/DB Dan Fynaardt, RB Tommy Schmitzer, DL Sergio Carini, DL Jake Koslo,

Notable Returnees: RB Obacoso Allen (Jr.), WR/RB/DB Alex Oechsner (Sr.), DB Charlie Jarvis (Jr.), QB/WR Rory Fox (Jr.), RB/LB P.J. Reynolds (So.), LB Langston Latham (Jr.), WR/DB Marvell Lee (Jr.), OL/DL Morgan McKnight (Jr.), LB Ben Didion (Sr.)

Non-Conference Opponent: @ Brookfield Central (10/2)

Outlook: After running roughshod through D4 in last year’s playoffs, the Crusaders now find themselves in a conference where the prevailing thought is the running roughshod will continue. For this year it will, no doubt there are a few teams that can push them, but this is still a C8 team in the Parkland. We’ll see if over time that “C8 edge” disappears. For now, CMH will have to plug in some holes along the O-Line and replace über-productive QB Luke Fox (does brother Rory slide in?), but leading rusher Obacoso Allen (968 yards, 12 TDs) returns as does Alex Oechsner (32 receptions, 526 yards, 8 TDs). On defense, the three-head monster of Ben Kreul, Cole Dakovich and Joey Goetz moves on, but look for Langston Latham and Morgan McKnight to really emerge as playmakers up front. Charlie Jarvis (61 tackles, 3 INTs) is also back in the secondary along with Oechsner (4 INT). It’ll be a bit of a nomadic experience for CMH this year between North and South as Carroll is not available to them, but they get New Berlin Eisenhower and Pewaukee at home, sandwiched around a trip to New Berlin West over the last three weeks.

Grafton

2019 Record: 7-4 (6-3)

Notable Losses: RB Joey Giorgi, QB Zach Weir, TE/LB Mason Hunt-Olkowski, TE/LB Caleb Buback, OL Isaiah Mielke, DL Aaron Weisflog, DL Max Medvedev, LB Jay Garza, WR/DB Joe Birch, DB Dylan Robinson

Notable Returnees: OL/DL JP Benzschawel (Sr.), WR Dominic Voiland (Sr.), OL Nathan Skebba (Jr.), LB Kenny Likins (Sr.), LB Andrew Ribecky (Sr.)

Non-Conference Opponent: vs. Watertown (11/6)

Outlook: The resurgence of the Grafton program should continue with the move to the Woodland (at least record-wise, I question whether they can keep that “edge” they would have had from a NSC schedule in that division), but for this year they are in with the Parkland group. The Blackhawks lost a lot of production with the graduation of the state’s leading rusher in Joey Giorgi (2,338 yards, 29 TDs) and QB Zach Weir (2,106 yards, 23 TDs) and they will have to be replaced. Some bodies are back up-front (including Badgers recruit JP Benzschawel) along with playmaking receiver Dominic Voiland (58 receptions, 803 yards, 8 TDs). Benzschawel and LB Kenny Likins (56 tackles) will lead a defensive group that will have plenty of new faces. Grafton would be an odds-on favorite in the Woodland, but in the Parkland group they will be in a dog fight for that spot behind CMH. How quickly the new blood grows up will dictate where they ultimately finish.

New Berlin Eisenhower

2019 Record: 11-2 (7-1)

Notable Losses: OL/DL Isaac Freichels, RB/LB Eli Hoelke, WR/DB Max Lewis, RB/LB Jack Osielski, TE/LB Ben Buechel, RB/LB Colton Filipowicz, OL/DL Nick Anderson, TE/LB Eric Dreyer, TE/LB Ben Lapp, OL/DL Drake Weitzer, WR/LB Matt Baumann, WR/DB Nick Ciardo, OL/DL Will Wendlick, LB Gabe Olson, QB Gabe Seifert (transferred to Palmetto Ridge (FL))

Notable Returnees: PK Stjepan Peharda (Sr.), RB/LB John Wesling (Sr.), WR/DB Tristan Obst (Sr.), OL/DL Luka Zadrima (Sr.), OL/DL Sam Sidello (Jr.)

Non-Conference Opponent: vs. Wisconsin Lutheran (10/9)

Outlook: Eisenhower took a hit late in summer when multi-year starting QB Gabe Seifert transferred out-of-state. The Lions already had a lot to replace before that. It appears that maybe Tristan Obst (who was a receiver a year ago) or senior RJ Connell (who saw limited snaps) will take the reins. It stands to reason that John Wesling will carry the rushing load after going for 233 yards a year ago, but beyond him and Obst, there aren’t a lot of guys who got meaningful reps a year ago. Wesling and Luka Zadrima are the only two of the top 10 tacklers from a year ago that return as well as the defense will also have a new look. Even with the kicker being their biggest returning weapon, don’t count the Lions out as Kern has the program in a real good, consistent place right now. It might be a bridge too far to figure IKE as a threat to CMH this season, but stranger things have happened in this league.

New Berlin West

2019 Record: 9-2 (7-1)

Notable Losses: RB/LB Adam Siegel, OL/DL Donoven Acevedo, OL/DL Joey DiMotto, QB/WR/DB Jake Wieneke, WR/DB/P Aaron Sobush, TE/LB Luke Lehman, OL/DL Jared Henrichs, RB/LB Rudy Zavaleta

Notable Returnees: OL/DL Paul Nennig (Sr.), WR/DB Andy VanZile (Sr.), TE/DB Mike Paget (Sr.), OL/DL Carter Cullaz (Sr.), TE/LB Sam Engle (Sr.)

Non-Conference Opponent: vs. Port Washington (9/25)

Outlook: New Berlin West is another program that has struck a chord of consistency and despite heavy graduation losses cannot be completely counted out. Replacing Adam Siegel’s 2,104 yards and 26 TDs won’t be easy and running QB Jake Wieneke’s production will be missed as well. There doesn’t appear to be an heir apparent to Siegel based on last year’s stats, though I believe senior Carson Rose will be expected to take the snaps. Paul Nennig returns to anchor the O-Line, but the guys around him will be mostly new. Nennig and Carter Cullaz are back along the defensive front with Sam Engle and Andy VanZile behind them. The Vikings enter 2020 with a lot of question marks, the Week 3 matchup with Grafton will be a litmus test.

Pewaukee

2019 Record: 6-5 (5-3)

Notable Losses: TE/DL T.J. Chadwick, OL/DL Fred Crawford, RB/DB Elliot Mueller, RB/LB Luke Leveille, RB/DB Justus Zemberi, PK/P Thales Andrade, OL/DL Grant Griesbach, WR/DB Logan Evers, OL/LB Joe Sklenar

Notable Returnees: OL/DL Jacob Kuglitsch (Sr.), RB/LB Kris Johnson (Sr.), OL/DL Cooper Young (Sr.), QB Logan Dobberstein (Jr.), RB/DB B.J. Yost (Sr.), RB/DB Nick McFadden (Sr.), RB/LB Max Sheridan (Jr.), WR/DB Nathan Schroeder (Jr.)

Non-Conference Opponent: @ Menomonee Falls (10/16)

Outlook: Based on what’s returning the Pewaukee Pirates may be the best equipped team in the Parkland to challenge Catholic Memorial. Several O-Linemen, starting QB Logan Dobberstein, and their top three rushers in Kris Johnson, B.J. Yost and Nick McFadden are all back. Johnson also doubles as their top returning tackler from his LB spot. The Pirates have a lot of young, talented multi-sport guys who have played in many big games already. Are they ready to take down Eisenhower and West? I believe so. However, despite being best equipped to challaenge the mighty Crusaders, will they? Tune in 11/6 to find out. Could be a matchup of in-conference unbeatens.

Wauwatosa East

2019 Record: 1-9 (0-8)

Notable Losses: LB Andrew Steagall, RB Jacarri Oldham, WR Michael Cocroft, LB Ben Kraft, WR/DB Andy Albinger

Notable Returnees: OL/DL Marcus Mbow (Sr.), RB Mo Rockette (Sr.), QB Thomas Harper (Jr.), RB Jayden Lor (Jr.), WR Aidan Dodge (Sr.), WR A.J. Nichols (Jr.)

Non-Conference Opponent: @ Lake Country Lutheran (10/23)

Outlook: After years of trying, Wauwatosa East has finally shuffled off the Greater Metro coil. They find themselves in a league where the schools are more their size, but currently are probably still out of their league football-wise. The Red Raiders do have impressive Arizona State commit Marcus Mbow back along their lines and several offensive players with a couple years experience, so it’ll be interesting to see if they can put up some numbers here. Stats were a bit lacking, so I’m not sure what comes back defensively, but the guys from the East side of Tosa will absolutely have to improve on the 30.8 ppg conceded a year ago

Wauwatosa West

2019 Record: 2-7 (2-6)

Notable Losses: DB Trevor Kuhl, DL Noah Loechler, RB Gerald Dawson, OL Cameron Jackson, OL Elijah Calhoun, RB Carter Keenan, DL Brady Ingbretson, DB Dylan Parker, LB James Kaine

Notable Returnees: QB/LB Logan Ertl (Sr.), QB Avery Dixon (Jr.), RB Alijah Maher-Parr (Jr.), LB Simon Doyle (Sr.)

Non-Conference Opponent: vs. Brookfield Central (10/30)

Outlook: The record didn’t show it, but Wauwatosa West was a very competitive team in the rugged Greater Metro. Unfortunately, no team in the greater Milwaukee area did a poorer job reporting their stats, so I’m going from memory of the one game of theirs I saw a year ago. Offensively, the team scuffled a bit, but Avery Dixon is an intriguing prospect at QB, while Logan Ertl is a versatile athlete with good size. The Trojans have a sizable senior class, but overall size is a bit lacking. Defensively they were excellent a year ago against some high-powered offenses, if they can bring that with them, they could upset the apple cart a bit in the Parkland.

Prognostication:

1. Catholic Memorial
2. Pewaukee
3. Grafton
4. New Berlin Eisenhower
5. Wauwatosa West
6. New Berlin West
7. Wauwatosa East

-I don’t think I’m going out on a limb by choosing Catholic Memorial as the top dog here, but 2 through 6 legitimately could go any old way. Pewaukee gets the slight edge based on the amount they have returning, but Grafton coming in from the North Shore might still be a cut above their new Woodland brethren even with some big graduation losses. IKE losing their QB so late in the summer when he was one of the few pieces returning has me concerned. Wauwatosa West is a bit of a wild card and I’m betting they finish above at least one of the Woodland teams. New Berlin West lost so much production and has a lot of questions that need to be answered. I think they may scuffle a bit, particularly early on. The going should be slightly easier for Wauwatosa East this year…not sure it leads to any wins however. This makeshift league with Grafton swapping in for Pius/ML actually might be one of the better league races in the state…if you act like CMH isn’t there. 😄

https://twitter.com/barwickipedia - Follow me. Because we all need a bit of sports snark in our lives.

"Doin' right ain't got no end."
-The Outlaw Josey Wales

"'Allegedly' is right, Mr. Polian. I have a hole in my ear drum, I'd never go for a swim, no matter how drunk me is."
-Pat McAfee
Quote 0 0
sonsofdonbosco
Great preview, DB. The capsules get more detailed as we get closer to SE Wisconsin and the "Parkland" one clearly benefits from your familiarity, but honestly, these are all great previews and they remind me of what we used to get in the old CNI hometown paper. Talk about changing times, losing those papers was a real tragedy of this "online news" era. Thank you for filling in the gap.

As far as the football itself....

I've seen Memorial on the field and they more than pass the eye test. You know they'll be well coached and they're testing themselves with a scrimmage against the top program in the state. Assuming they don't get banged up there, there's just no way I can see any of these other schools mounting a serious challenge this season.

We're all asking about that "C8 Edge" and there's no doubt competition quality is a real factor come playoff time, but if they keep scheduling "up" with the likes of BC for non-cons (the rest of this conference, barring Greendale, tends to schedule laterally at best) it will play in their favor. The talent pipeline is another piece. That Reynolds kid (soph) is a great example. If they keep winning and sending kids to D-1 schools, they'll keep attracting talented kids who see CMH as a better path to that next level. 

Another newcomer is Grafton. They probably would have made hay in the "Woodland" but personally, I feel like any edge they have coming from the North Shore is rendered moot by the competition here. Sure, there's no Homestead, but outside of Homestead the North Shore hasn't made any playoff noise since Germantown last won state. Pewaukee and the City of New Berlin are three solid programs and in a normal year Grafton might struggle with all three. This year, though...? It really does feel like the tossup DB outlined.

Pewaukee looks solid on paper but both West and Ike have so many questions after graduation. Meanwhile, West's needle at the lower levels is pointing up but I hear that Ike's is a little wobbly. And what's the real story with the QB from Ike transferring to Florida? Was that a legit family move, or was it football purposes only? 

I do think Tosa West has the potential to steal a couple from the above group, but they don't have the culture they need yet to win consistently. Tosa East just goes from tough situation to tough situation. An argument could be made that both of these schools would have been better off joining Pius and the Lutherans in the spring from a competitive standpoint.

Hopefully this conference streams some of these games. Just for the sheer curiosity factor, it would have been great to watch all the new and unusual matchups this year-- and other than whoever is playing CMH in a given week, a lot feels like it's up for grabs.
Quote 0 0
db11
Great preview, DB. The capsules get more detailed as we get closer to SE Wisconsin and the "Parkland" one clearly benefits from your familiarity, but honestly, these are all great previews and they remind me of what we used to get in the old CNI hometown paper. Talk about changing times, losing those papers was a real tragedy of this "online news" era. Thank you for filling in the gap.

As far as the football itself....

I've seen Memorial on the field and they more than pass the eye test. You know they'll be well coached and they're testing themselves with a scrimmage against the top program in the state. Assuming they don't get banged up there, there's just no way I can see any of these other schools mounting a serious challenge this season.

We're all asking about that "C8 Edge" and there's no doubt competition quality is a real factor come playoff time, but if they keep scheduling "up" with the likes of BC for non-cons (the rest of this conference, barring Greendale, tends to schedule laterally at best) it will play in their favor. The talent pipeline is another piece. That Reynolds kid (soph) is a great example. If they keep winning and sending kids to D-1 schools, they'll keep attracting talented kids who see CMH as a better path to that next level. 

Another newcomer is Grafton. They probably would have made hay in the "Woodland" but personally, I feel like any edge they have coming from the North Shore is rendered moot by the competition here. Sure, there's no Homestead, but outside of Homestead the North Shore hasn't made any playoff noise since Germantown last won state. Pewaukee and the City of New Berlin are three solid programs and in a normal year Grafton might struggle with all three. This year, though...? It really does feel like the tossup DB outlined.

Pewaukee looks solid on paper but both West and Ike have so many questions after graduation. Meanwhile, West's needle at the lower levels is pointing up but I hear that Ike's is a little wobbly. And what's the real story with the QB from Ike transferring to Florida? Was that a legit family move, or was it football purposes only? 

I do think Tosa West has the potential to steal a couple from the above group, but they don't have the culture they need yet to win consistently. Tosa East just goes from tough situation to tough situation. An argument could be made that both of these schools would have been better off joining Pius and the Lutherans in the spring from a competitive standpoint.

Hopefully this conference streams some of these games. Just for the sheer curiosity factor, it would have been great to watch all the new and unusual matchups this year-- and other than whoever is playing CMH in a given week, a lot feels like it's up for grabs.


Thanks. Those old previews in the CNI papers and the Journal are my inspiration. They are definitely missed. Probably over-extended myself on Saturday (I was really struggling by the time I got to that SLC preview). The days of pounding out history papers in a few hours are clearly behind me.

You're probably selling Whitefish Bay a little short (although they are incredibly analogous to IKE, aren't they?) and Hartford and Slinger are tough teams with tough kids. We'll see. I do know there's been a big culture shift out in Grafton in regards to male sports in recent years, and I don't think that's going away. Amazing what happens when you invest in your kids.

I have no inside knowledge, but of the three late summer #wisfb transfers that were announced via Twitter (after a long period of consideration, I have decided that what's best for me...my favorite was the kicker from KIT who wasn't even their #1 a year ago)...there was nothing I saw that indicated they were anything other than for full football season purposes only...but I am a professional cynic too.

I know a pair of schools that are doing that...not saying that's why, but I am saying...😉

Though with today's news regarding Marquette winning an appeal to play in the fall, I wonder if WISCO and ML follow suit.
https://twitter.com/barwickipedia - Follow me. Because we all need a bit of sports snark in our lives.

"Doin' right ain't got no end."
-The Outlaw Josey Wales

"'Allegedly' is right, Mr. Polian. I have a hole in my ear drum, I'd never go for a swim, no matter how drunk me is."
-Pat McAfee
Quote 0 0
sonsofdonbosco

db11 wrote:

You're probably selling Whitefish Bay a little short (although they are incredibly analogous to IKE, aren't they?) and Hartford and Slinger are tough teams with tough kids. We'll see.

I should probably move this answer to the North Shore discussion, but I’m too lazy. 

I think the Ike comparison is pretty spot-on aside from the tradition at Eisenhower, where they were winning state titles in the 80s and 90s. Bay can’t compare there, although they’re one of those schools that always seems to get a lot of column inches in the JS (see today’s paper). In the last ten years or so, Cedarburg has fallen off and Bay has stepped into that “runner-up” role behind Homestead up there, but I was always more impressed with Cedarburg for some reason. Probably just can’t shake my perception of them as a soccer school.

Then again, Germantown left the North Shore for the GMC and has been basically a .500 team ever since. Milwaukee Lutheran hasn’t exactly set the Woodland on fire. Hartford and Slinger came in from a conference Wisco owned for fifteen years and basically beat everyone up... heck, even a West Bend school with their crazy, randomized enrollment system (their own worst enemy) won a few games in that conference last year. 

Don’t get me wrong, I agree that Grafton is building something and they will be darn good in coming years, even without a Don Bosco legacy running wild in the backfield. 😉 I just think the conference they’re in now isn’t too far from the conference they left.

Quote 0 0
amped0808
My thoughts

1. Catholic Memorial: Despite popular belief by some that they over their heads in the Classic Eight (When you have Coach Young around, no you are not) the Crusaders remained near the top of the league. That should continue here as members of the revived Parkland. Thinking D4 is counting their lucky stars if there isn't a full playoffs this year (maybe).

T-2. Pewaukee: I'll have to agree that the Pirates on paper have the lineup to challenge CMH for the league crown but they need to fix their offensive issues that plagued them for the majority of last year. Defense should keep them in games as the offense comes into form.

T-2. Grafton: The Blackhawks program has come a loooonng way from being in the midst of a 30+ game losing streak in the early part of the 2010's. They have made the postseason the last two years (and won a playoff game both times!). Despite losing a bunch of talent I think they could be the dark horse.

4. New Berlin Eisenhower: It's hard to put the Lions down here but with the transfer of Seifert and the lack of depth/experience on offense, things point to the Lions having a retooling year. However the coaching staff will get this next batch of Lions ready for whatever the top contenders bring on a weekly basis.

5. Wauwatosa West: If the Trojans were in the Woodland the last few years, they would've made the postseason all three years. However as fate would have it, they were in the GMC where the margin of error is really thin and many of the bounces didn't go their way. However it's not wise to count out West on a weekly basis in the Parkland. I think the three years in the rugged GMC could lead to an upset or two this year.

6. New Berlin West: Last year was West's best year on the field in some time by getting a share of the Woodland West crown and winning a playoff game. However most of the production has moved on. The cupboard isn't exactly bare but out of the gate there are going to stumble a bit especially if the returning talent doesn't gel off the start.

7. Wauwatosa East: The Red Raiders are out of the GMC finally. However they got put in a just as competitive Parkland. It should be a more manageable league for East to compete in on a nightly basis but this program has a long way to go before it can actually move up in the standings. 
2013 WSN HOF Inductee, 2014 Derek Lendosky Poster of the Year
Wissports HOF Coordinator
Once a Warrior, Always a Warrior
WLC Men's Tennis Coach
WLC Men's Tennis: 2013-14 Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Tournament Champions (13-10)
Twitter
Quote 0 0
db11
With WISCO getting cleared to play as of today, here's a preview on them:

Wisconsin Lutheran

2019 Record: 4-6 (4-4)

Notable Losses: WR/DB Caleb Bilitz, RB/LB Adler Henn, OL/DL Cameron Campbell

Notable Returnees: RB/DB Jeremiah Hampton (Sr.), QB Bryce Pagel (Sr.), OL/DL Joseph Kallies (Jr.), OL/DL Kam Dorsey (Jr.), TE/LB Alex Sutter (Sr.), RB/DB Sam Oertel (Sr.), OL/DL Immanuel Williams (Jr.), TE/DL Caleb Schneider (Sr.), TE/LB Elijah Villa (Jr.)

Schedule: Not enough practices to play (9/25); vs. Marquette (10/2); @ New Berlin Eisenhower (10/9); @ Kaukauna (10/16); Open Date (10/23); vs. Sussex Hamilton (10/30); vs. Menomonee Falls (11/6).

Outlook: WISCO was originally slated for the alternate fall season in the spring, but has won an appeal and will be playing in the fall instead, albeit with a non-conference schedule that currently has only five games. The bright side (beyond getting to play in the fall) is that there is a lot of experience returning including leading passer Bryce Pagel, leading rusher Jeremiah Hampton (963 yards, 13 TDs) and second-leading tackler Alex Sutter. Most of the lines on both sides of the ball return as well. The downside is the makeshift schedule leaves the Vikings as a likely underdog in every game, a stark contrast from what the original 2020 schedule would have led to, which was a likely upper-division finish, although it probably would have been tight again for a playoff berth.

https://twitter.com/barwickipedia - Follow me. Because we all need a bit of sports snark in our lives.

"Doin' right ain't got no end."
-The Outlaw Josey Wales

"'Allegedly' is right, Mr. Polian. I have a hole in my ear drum, I'd never go for a swim, no matter how drunk me is."
-Pat McAfee
Quote 0 0
wissportsnet

Boys Basketball Alumni Round-up: February 21st, from @ColtonWilson23 #wisbb -- https://t.co/0K6CZzZWpf https://t.co/715tfpBGVS

wissportsnet

WSN15: Boys Basketball Top Teams #12 -- Two NCAA Division I players at one WIAA Division 4 school = state champions… https://t.co/1MThqzce9L

wissportsnet

Predicting winners of every state wrestling title plus a look By The Numbers, from @Nate_Woelfel -… https://t.co/HgU1bLP7d6

wissportsnet

Join the free Boys Basketball Playoff Pick 'Em Contest; Staff picks coming Tuesday #wisbb -- https://t.co/Y6yTA3OgP8 https://t.co/hA6Uyw9uje