fayfam
In tonight's game we had a girl listed with the wrong uniform number ( but the line-up card had her name and position correct ) In her third at-bat she reached by error and was replaced by a pinch runner ...  but before the next batter came to the plate the opposing coach appealed ... pointing out she was incorrectly listed.  She had previously reached base safely and nothing had been said.  Please clarify the rule on wrong number on the line-up card.  We thought because she had already reached base in an earlier inning and no protest had been raised she then became 'legal' and was not subject to a later ruling or appeal.  She was called out ... was that the correct ruling ?
Quote 0 0
habes44
We had this happen with Oshkosh West a few years ago. We mistakenly wrote the wrong number down for one of our players.She reached base her last time up, opposing team coach appealed to the umpire, she was called out immediately. Umpires explained to us that coaches do not have to appeal immediately, as long as it is appealed before the end of the game.

To answer the question, yes the call was correct. The player uniform number MUST be the same as the one listed on the lineup card. It is a automatic ruling. That is why you have to double check with your players to make sure that the right number is listed BEFORE you turn in the lineup card to the opposing team and the plate umpire.
Quote 0 0
wissportsnet

Boys Basketball Alumni Round-up: February 21st, from @ColtonWilson23 #wisbb -- https://t.co/0K6CZzZWpf https://t.co/715tfpBGVS

wissportsnet

WSN15: Boys Basketball Top Teams #12 -- Two NCAA Division I players at one WIAA Division 4 school = state champions… https://t.co/1MThqzce9L

wissportsnet

Predicting winners of every state wrestling title plus a look By The Numbers, from @Nate_Woelfel -… https://t.co/HgU1bLP7d6

wissportsnet

Join the free Boys Basketball Playoff Pick 'Em Contest; Staff picks coming Tuesday #wisbb -- https://t.co/Y6yTA3OgP8 https://t.co/hA6Uyw9uje