oly65
Have some rule questions??

Watching New Lisbon play Bangor on 5/16 in softball and had a couple calls that made me scratch my head.

Play No. 1 Runners on second and third one out. Batter hits a hard hit ball to short. Our runner on second ran to third did not touch the ball or player and passed 3 feet in front of SS. SS was distracted by the runner and fumbled the ball picked it up and threw over the first baseman. Two runs scored batter on second. Umpire stopped play saying runner inter. with SS?? Was not close to the SS did not stop in front or even jump over the ball?? Said she was not allowed to FLASH in front of the SS before the ball got there. Girl had to return to 3rd girl on second out and girl on first with FC.


Play No. 2 Second game same ump. Had bases loaded two outs and our lead off hitter flies to left center. Ball slices away from CF who makes a diving grab but when rolling through the play after diving the ball was out of her glove and rolls away from her. 3 runs score batter at second. Base Ump gave the safe sign but Home ump never was asked for an appeal and stated catch was good even though he was still behind the plate and Base ump 10 ft. away. State that she had control before going to the ground and even when she rolled and had the ball come out it doesn't matter. Thought this was a continuation call where you have to establish and keep control through the play?? Coach asked if it was even a call that he could call or even appeal since Base ump ruled it safe. Both plays
did end up determining the outcome of each game. (This same ump would not determine another play on third that was appealed stating he is not in position to call that on appeal but one 150 ft in right center he can??)

One other thing. A NL pitcher was charged with no pitch because she did not start with both feet on rubber and also did not start with ball in open had. I thought these had changed last year. You can start with the ball in the glove and you can pitch with lead foot on the top of rubber and other behind???

Little frustrated in NL
Quote 0 0
coach40
The first one is sketchy. Simply put if the runner tries to block or impede the fielder than yes it is interference. This could be if she slows down or stutters in front of the fielder. This is completely judgemental. If a player consciously makes an effort to impede a fielder it is Interference.

As for the second one...player has to keep control of the catch. A catch is only valid when a player releases the ball voluntary or intentionally. By falling on the ground and having it jar loose it is not a catch. The umpire at home should NOT have done anything. That is the base umpire's call and can only be changed through an appeal.
Do or do not---there is no try
Master Yoda
Quote 0 0
fadeddave
My daughter pitched all last season with her back foot off the rubber. Her private pitching coach assured us it wasn't against the rules in WI. It was never an issue in WIAA action. However she did have to adjust when playing games in Florida and Michigan and for the following summer tournament season and college this year.
--
dave
Quote 0 0
coach40
fadeddave wrote:
My daughter pitched all last season with her back foot off the rubber. Her private pitching coach assured us it wasn't against the rules in WI. It was never an issue in WIAA action. However she did have to adjust when playing games in Florida and Michigan and for the following summer tournament season and college this year.
--
dave



You are correct that it is not an issue in Wisconsin. You may have your non-pivot foot behind the rubber
Do or do not---there is no try
Master Yoda
Quote 0 0
goldball
Can someone address a batted ball that doesn't leave the batter's box. When is it fair/foul?
"Friday night butterflies, like clockwork they arrived,
Little chill in an October sky, nervous 'til the kickoff came,
Four quarters win or lose, spent Saturdays black-n-blue, but it was what I loved to do, and it was more than just a game."

Quote 0 0
coach40
goldball wrote:
Can someone address a batted ball that doesn't leave the batter's box. When is it fair/foul?


You have to run the foul line straight to the point of the plate. A ball just in the upper right corner of the box of the right handed hitter and the upper left on the other side are fair. Truly you only have about 10% of the box as fair territory.
Do or do not---there is no try
Master Yoda
Quote 0 0
levelm
What a mess...

http://host.madison.com/sports/high-school/softball/wiaa-softball-umpires-decision-gives-madison-la-follette-controversial-win/article_df05be65-c610-585b-9d7f-c060b1a30834.html

Umpires add a run back 2 innings after they initially disallowed it in a sectional in a tie game.

Know the rulebook definitions, being out on a fly ball appeal is not a force out.
Quote 0 0
buzzerbeater2
At what age can a kid come into HS practices and pitch to varsity players? Middle school? Do they have to be in HS? Does it matter if they are in/out of district? I want to get a kid to throw, but don't want to wreck eligibility.
Mike McCarthy is challenging the ruling on the field that he has 3 timeouts remaining.
Charter member of the WSN 1000-post Culb.

* - Banned for life from any WSN "Hall of Fame."

Quote 0 0
blade12
Are you talking about actual during the WIAA season practices or open gyms?

Regardless of the WIAA rules I would imagine there are some liability issues with someone not on the team or school if they got hurt.
Quote 0 0
spintothetop
When I was in 8th grade a few of us were moved up to the freshman team. But we had zero interaction with the varsity team. We did practice against the JV team, but we never did anything with the varsity. Not sure if we were allowed to or not. And that is for baseball so I would think softball would follow the same guidelines.
University of Oregon student "Go Ducks"
Quote 0 0
2miler
Was watching a softball game the other day and am curious what the result of the following scenario would be. It came close to happening in the game but not quite.

Batter lays down a bunt that dies right in front of the plate in fair territory.
Batter drops her bat and heads for 1st base.
The ball is so close to the plate that her bat as it hits the ground...hits the ball again moving it slightly forward.
Catcher throws the ball to first....but not in time to get the runner.

Is she safe or out?
Quote 0 0
safetysqueezepleezzee11
2miler wrote:
Was watching a softball game the other day and am curious what the result of the following scenario would be. It came close to happening in the game but not quite.

Batter lays down a bunt that dies right in front of the plate in fair territory.
Batter drops her bat and heads for 1st base.
The ball is so close to the plate that her bat as it hits the ground...hits the ball again moving it slightly forward.
Catcher throws the ball to first....but not in time to get the runner.

Is she safe or out?


Unless rules have changed, a ball touched by the hitter or their bat(2nd hit) in fair territory is an out. A bat dropped 'near' a ball in fair territory but it did NOT touch the ball was always an umpire decision. The plate is 'fair' territory by the way. Your question about the bunted ball(in fair territory) being touched by the bat is a pretty basic call. A bat in 'incidently' dropped in fair territory, BUT not hitting or touching the ball used to be an umpire decision. That may have changed since I last umped though. I wouldn't be surprised if dropping the bat in fair territory is called an out today in high school softball.
Quote 0 0
satinwood
safetysqueezepleezzee11 wrote:
2miler wrote:
Was watching a softball game the other day and am curious what the result of the following scenario would be. It came close to happening in the game but not quite.

Batter lays down a bunt that dies right in front of the plate in fair territory.
Batter drops her bat and heads for 1st base.
The ball is so close to the plate that her bat as it hits the ground...hits the ball again moving it slightly forward.
Catcher throws the ball to first....but not in time to get the runner.

Is she safe or out?


Unless rules have changed, a ball touched by the hitter or their bat(2nd hit) in fair territory is an out. A bat dropped 'near' a ball in fair territory but it did NOT touch the ball was always an umpire decision. The plate is 'fair' territory by the way. Your question about the bunted ball(in fair territory) being touched by the bat is a pretty basic call. A bat in 'incidently' dropped in fair territory, BUT not hitting or touching the ball used to be an umpire decision. That may have changed since I last umped though. I wouldn't be surprised if dropping the bat in fair territory is called an out today in high school softball.


If the bat is on the ground in fair territory and is moving when the ball hits it, the batter is out. If the bat is stationary when the ball contacts it a second time, the ball is live.
Quote 0 0
coach40
satinwood wrote:
safetysqueezepleezzee11 wrote:
2miler wrote:
Was watching a softball game the other day and am curious what the result of the following scenario would be. It came close to happening in the game but not quite.

Batter lays down a bunt that dies right in front of the plate in fair territory.
Batter drops her bat and heads for 1st base.
The ball is so close to the plate that her bat as it hits the ground...hits the ball again moving it slightly forward.
Catcher throws the ball to first....but not in time to get the runner.

Is she safe or out?


Unless rules have changed, a ball touched by the hitter or their bat(2nd hit) in fair territory is an out. A bat dropped 'near' a ball in fair territory but it did NOT touch the ball was always an umpire decision. The plate is 'fair' territory by the way. Your question about the bunted ball(in fair territory) being touched by the bat is a pretty basic call. A bat in 'incidently' dropped in fair territory, BUT not hitting or touching the ball used to be an umpire decision. That may have changed since I last umped though. I wouldn't be surprised if dropping the bat in fair territory is called an out today in high school softball.


If the bat is on the ground in fair territory and is moving when the ball hits it, the batter is out. If the bat is stationary when the ball contacts it a second time, the ball is live.


I do not think it matters if it is stationary or not. Believe the batter is out regardless.
Do or do not---there is no try
Master Yoda
Quote 0 0
satinwood
mj11 wrote:
2miler wrote:
Was watching a softball game the other day and am curious what the result of the following scenario would be. It came close to happening in the game but not quite.

Batter lays down a bunt that dies right in front of the plate in fair territory.
Batter drops her bat and heads for 1st base.
The ball is so close to the plate that her bat as it hits the ground...hits the ball again moving it slightly forward.
Catcher throws the ball to first....but not in time to get the runner.

Is she safe or out?


From the best softball rules guy that I know here's his response:

If bat rolls into ball it is an out, if balls rolls into bat it is a live ball and nothing.


FIFY

And to add to that, from the WIAA site...

Question 2: A batter laid down a bunt in fair territory. She dropped the bat and went to first. The bat was lying in fair ground, and the bunted ball ended up rolling into the bat. The umpires said that because the bat was lying still, and the ball moved into the bat, it was still a live ball, and no out was recorded. When I looked at Rule 7-4-13, I got the impression that anytime the ball hits the bat a second time, whether intentional or not, in fair territory, the runner should have been called out.

Answer: In NFHS rules, 7-4-13, only the bat moving into the ball is covered. So the ruling by the umpires was correct. If contact is made in fair territory, it?s a live ball. In foul territory, a foul ball.
Quote 0 0
wissportsnet

Boys Basketball Alumni Round-up: February 21st, from @ColtonWilson23 #wisbb -- https://t.co/0K6CZzZWpf https://t.co/715tfpBGVS

wissportsnet

WSN15: Boys Basketball Top Teams #12 -- Two NCAA Division I players at one WIAA Division 4 school = state champions… https://t.co/1MThqzce9L

wissportsnet

Predicting winners of every state wrestling title plus a look By The Numbers, from @Nate_Woelfel -… https://t.co/HgU1bLP7d6

wissportsnet

Join the free Boys Basketball Playoff Pick 'Em Contest; Staff picks coming Tuesday #wisbb -- https://t.co/Y6yTA3OgP8 https://t.co/hA6Uyw9uje