formerwiacbaseballer
A question for those that might be "more in the know' when it comes to WIAA regulations than me....

Is there any rule prohibiting teams from taking batting practice on the game field before a Regional game? For some reason I thought that might be the case "back in the day" but I wasn't sure if the rule had since been changed. The reason I ask is that on Friday during a Regional Final game, the host team was on the field taking BP when the opponent's showed up, and immediately stopped once the visiting bus pulled into the parking lot.
"Let's Play Two!!!"

Baseball is not a game that builds character, it is a game that reveals it.

"There are three types of baseball players: those who make things happen, those who watch it happen, and those who wonder what happened."
Quote 0 0
timcanterbury
I don't know about on the field. I do believe for the host team to use the batting cages, they must also offer them to the away team.

I seem to remember a team from somewhere in the southern US having to forfeit for short-tossing whiffles, when they were only allowed soft-toss. I would have to look back and try to find the story.
Quote 0 0
satinwood
The only thing I could find from the WIAA Tournament Procedures which might remotely apply:

"Host schools are NOT permitted to allow participating schools to practice on their facilities prior to their tournament."

I read this as meaning that teams cannot practice at a neutral host site (like in sectionals) prior to playing their games there.
Quote 0 0
traviswilson
satinwood wrote:
The only thing I could find from the WIAA Tournament Procedures which might remotely apply:

"Host schools are NOT permitted to allow participating schools to practice on their facilities prior to their tournament."

I read this as meaning that teams cannot practice at a neutral host site (like in sectionals) prior to playing their games there.

Technically all schools in the playoffs are host schools, even if they're playing at home. This would seem to be up to interpretation a bit, and the WIAA would really be the only ones to know for sure.
The Packers/Badgers/Brewers are like your children; you don't love them because they're good, you love them because they're yours.
10/22/2010 -- 598,210 pageviews for WSN
Follow me on Twitter: @travisWSN
Quote 0 0
formerwiacbaseballer
coach40 wrote:
In the regular season there is no rule against it.

In the playoffs there is a rule against it.

Any idea where to look on WIAA site to see rule?

Anyway, the result of the game likely wasn't influenced whatsoever by the team taking BP on the field, but I just found it amusing. The home team had the field cleared in a matter of minutes once the opposing team showed up. It was as if they knew it wasn't allowed, but chose to do so anyway.
"Let's Play Two!!!"

Baseball is not a game that builds character, it is a game that reveals it.

"There are three types of baseball players: those who make things happen, those who watch it happen, and those who wonder what happened."
Quote 0 0
traviswilson
formerwiacbaseballer wrote:
coach40 wrote:
In the regular season there is no rule against it.

In the playoffs there is a rule against it.

Any idea where to look on WIAA site to see rule?

Anyway, the result of the game likely wasn't influenced whatsoever by the team taking BP on the field, but I just found it amusing. The home team had the field cleared in a matter of minutes once the opposing team showed up. It was as if they knew it wasn't allowed, but chose to do so anyway.

http://www.wiaawi.org/Portals/0/PDF/Publications/Spring_Sport_Regs/baseballtournregs.pdf

Page 8, Rule 3(d)

"d. Host schools are NOT permitted to allow participating schools to practice on their facilities prior to their tournament."
The Packers/Badgers/Brewers are like your children; you don't love them because they're good, you love them because they're yours.
10/22/2010 -- 598,210 pageviews for WSN
Follow me on Twitter: @travisWSN
Quote 0 0
formerwiacbaseballer
traviswilson wrote:
formerwiacbaseballer wrote:
coach40 wrote:
In the regular season there is no rule against it.

In the playoffs there is a rule against it.

Any idea where to look on WIAA site to see rule?

Anyway, the result of the game likely wasn't influenced whatsoever by the team taking BP on the field, but I just found it amusing. The home team had the field cleared in a matter of minutes once the opposing team showed up. It was as if they knew it wasn't allowed, but chose to do so anyway.

http://www.wiaawi.org/Portals/0/PDF/Publications/Spring_Sport_Regs/baseballtournregs.pdf

Page 8, Rule 3(d)

"d. Host schools are NOT permitted to allow participating schools to practice on their facilities prior to their tournament."

Sorry... I saw that above. For some reason I thought coach40 was talking about something different.

So where is the host school supposed to practice then if they want to practice prior to the tournament? [:-]
"Let's Play Two!!!"

Baseball is not a game that builds character, it is a game that reveals it.

"There are three types of baseball players: those who make things happen, those who watch it happen, and those who wonder what happened."
Quote 0 0
coach40
In the regular season there is no rule against it.

In the playoffs there is a rule against it.
Do or do not---there is no try
Master Yoda
Quote 0 0
goldball
Is there an "Ask the Ump" thread somewhere for HS baseball? I'd like to pose some questions/scenarios.
"Friday night butterflies, like clockwork they arrived,
Little chill in an October sky, nervous 'til the kickoff came,
Four quarters win or lose, spent Saturdays black-n-blue, but it was what I loved to do, and it was more than just a game."

Quote 0 0
traviswilson
goldball wrote:
Is there an "Ask the Ump" thread somewhere for HS baseball? I'd like to pose some questions/scenarios.

We'll make it this one. I stickied it to the top.
The Packers/Badgers/Brewers are like your children; you don't love them because they're good, you love them because they're yours.
10/22/2010 -- 598,210 pageviews for WSN
Follow me on Twitter: @travisWSN
Quote 0 0
goldball
Thanks Travis.

First one... I made a multiplayer move mid-game last night, one involved inserting a bench player (B1) into the lineup in the 7-hole and at 1B. When he subsequently batted later, he reached on a walk. I pinch ran for him with a bench player (B2) thinking I could re-enter B1.

If B1 was not a game starter, does he have the same re-entry privilege as a starter?

Also, the pinch runner... can he enter the game later in a different position? Does it need to be same batting order even though he didn't bat, just ran?

Thanks for the help!
"Friday night butterflies, like clockwork they arrived,
Little chill in an October sky, nervous 'til the kickoff came,
Four quarters win or lose, spent Saturdays black-n-blue, but it was what I loved to do, and it was more than just a game."

Quote 0 0
safetysqueezepleezzee11
goldball wrote:
Thanks Travis.

First one... I made a multiplayer move mid-game last night, one involved inserting a bench player (B1) into the lineup in the 7-hole and at 1B. When he subsequently batted later, he reached on a walk. I pinch ran for him with a bench player (B2) thinking I could re-enter B1.

If B1 was not a game starter, does he have the same re-entry privilege as a starter?

Also, the pinch runner... can he enter the game later in a different position? Does it need to be same batting order even though he didn't bat, just ran?

Thanks for the help!


It has been awhile since I umpired high school baseball, but I am pretty sure ONLY the starters can
re-enter the game and they can only re-enter ONCE. Unless they changed the rule, I am pretty sure of this.
I can recall many discussions with managers over this rule. I always told coaches/managers to let ask
the umpires about subsequent things the replacement player was allowed to do if they were not
sure. I once had a coach try to pinch hit for his pitcher a second time (after the pitcher had re-entered once)
and I told him the pitcher would be DONE. He changed his mind real fast. He thought he could re-enter
the pitcher in the field again. Most umpires probably don't tell coaches this stuff(unfortunately). I never
figured it was part of the game to 'screw' coaches over when they simply didn't understand the rule. It was
very easy for me to assume that the coach knew his pitcher was done, but I stated it so no misunderstanding
would occur. The pitcher was throwing a great game and it seemed odd the coach would take him out. I have
no idea why he didn't DH for the pitcher, but it could be that the team simply didn't have many players.
Quote 0 0
mj11
goldball wrote:
Thanks Travis.

First one... I made a multiplayer move mid-game last night, one involved inserting a bench player (B1) into the lineup in the 7-hole and at 1B. When he subsequently batted later, he reached on a walk. I pinch ran for him with a bench player (B2) thinking I could re-enter B1.

If B1 was not a game starter, does he have the same re-entry privilege as a starter?

Also, the pinch runner... can he enter the game later in a different position? Does it need to be same batting order even though he didn't bat, just ran?

Thanks for the help!


Rule 3-1-3
Any of the starting players may be withdrawn and re-entered once, including the player who was the DH, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever he is in the lineup. A substitute who is withdrawn may not re-enter.
Quote 0 0
goldball
mj11 wrote:
goldball wrote:
Thanks Travis.

First one... I made a multiplayer move mid-game last night, one involved inserting a bench player (B1) into the lineup in the 7-hole and at 1B. When he subsequently batted later, he reached on a walk. I pinch ran for him with a bench player (B2) thinking I could re-enter B1.

If B1 was not a game starter, does he have the same re-entry privilege as a starter?

Also, the pinch runner... can he enter the game later in a different position? Does it need to be same batting order even though he didn't bat, just ran?

Thanks for the help!


Rule 3-1-3
Any of the starting players may be withdrawn and re-entered once, including the player who was the DH, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever he is in the lineup. A substitute who is withdrawn may not re-enter.


I read that reference. What I need to be clear on is whether or not a "pinch-runner" or "pinch-hitter" qualifies as a substitute, since it's not a "permanent switch". Hope that makes sense.
"Friday night butterflies, like clockwork they arrived,
Little chill in an October sky, nervous 'til the kickoff came,
Four quarters win or lose, spent Saturdays black-n-blue, but it was what I loved to do, and it was more than just a game."

Quote 0 0
safetysqueezepleezzee11
goldball wrote:
mj11 wrote:
goldball wrote:
Thanks Travis.

First one... I made a multiplayer move mid-game last night, one involved inserting a bench player (B1) into the lineup in the 7-hole and at 1B. When he subsequently batted later, he reached on a walk. I pinch ran for him with a bench player (B2) thinking I could re-enter B1.

If B1 was not a game starter, does he have the same re-entry privilege as a starter?

Also, the pinch runner... can he enter the game later in a different position? Does it need to be same batting order even though he didn't bat, just ran?

Thanks for the help!


Rule 3-1-3
Any of the starting players may be withdrawn and re-entered once, including the player who was the DH, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever he is in the lineup. A substitute who is withdrawn may not re-enter.


I read that reference. What I need to be clear on is whether or not a "pinch-runner" or "pinch-hitter" qualifies as a substitute, since it's not a "permanent switch". Hope that makes sense.


YES - a pinch hitter or runner is a SUBSTITUTE and cant re-enter.
Quote 0 0
wissportsnet

Boys Basketball Alumni Round-up: February 21st, from @ColtonWilson23 #wisbb -- https://t.co/0K6CZzZWpf https://t.co/715tfpBGVS

wissportsnet

WSN15: Boys Basketball Top Teams #12 -- Two NCAA Division I players at one WIAA Division 4 school = state champions… https://t.co/1MThqzce9L

wissportsnet

Predicting winners of every state wrestling title plus a look By The Numbers, from @Nate_Woelfel -… https://t.co/HgU1bLP7d6

wissportsnet

Join the free Boys Basketball Playoff Pick 'Em Contest; Staff picks coming Tuesday #wisbb -- https://t.co/Y6yTA3OgP8 https://t.co/hA6Uyw9uje